Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Death On Blackheath (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 29)

On sale

12th September 2013

Price: £9.99

Select a format

Selected: ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755397198

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Pitt must learn that, sometimes, murder is not the worst betrayal…

Death on Blackheath is a masterful tale of the secrecy and lies hiding just beneath the glittering surface of wealthy Victorian society, featuring Anne Perry’s much-loved detective Thomas Pitt. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.


‘There is a freshness about [Perry’s] writing which makes it truly exceptional and I was gripped until the final page. Death on Blackheath was one of the best books I’ve read this year and I cannot recommend it highly enough’ – Eurocrime

Greenwich, 1897. A macabre scene is discovered outside a house on Shooters Hill. There has been a vicious fight, and amid the bloodstains are locks of long auburn hair. Thomas Pitt, head of Special Branch, is called: this is the home of Dudley Kynaston, a minister with access to some of the government’s most dangerous secrets, and any inquiry must be handled with utmost discretion. An auburn-haired maid has disappeared from Kynaston’s household, but no major crime appears to have taken place. Then a disfigured body is found in the gravel pits nearby. Could this be Kynaston’s missing servant? As Pitt begins to investigate, he finds small inconsistencies in Kynaston’s story. Are these harmless omissions, or could they lead to something more serious, something that could threaten not just Kynaston’s own family but also his Queen and country?

What readers are saying about Death on Blackheath:

‘If you’re looking for intelligent historical crime fiction with solid characterisation and a good sense of the period, Perry can always be relied upon’

Death on Blackheath combines her usual lush descriptions that so completely transport the reader into the time period with pacing so remarkably quick, I believe this may be one of Perry’s best literary efforts to date’

‘[Anne Perry’s] books are always gripping and beautifully written

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Eurocrime
There is a freshness about [Perry's] writing which makes it truly exceptional and I was gripped until the final page. Death on Blackheath was one of the best books I've read this year and I cannot recommend it highly enough
Faye Kellerman
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
San Diego Union-Tribune
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
Guardian
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
New York Times
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
Cleveland Plain Dealer
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Publishers Weekly
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
The Wall Street Journal
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist
Seattle Weekly
Perry is a forceful plotter and a consistently polished writer
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon