Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Bluegate Fields (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 6)

On sale

26th March 2015

Price: £4.99

Selected:  ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472227577

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A tidy solution to a murder makes Inspector Pitt uneasy – is there more to this case than meets the eye?

In the sixth acclaimed mystery from Anne Perry, Thomas and Charlotte Pitt must discover the truth of a young gentleman’s sordid murder – or an innocent man will hang.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Samson and Ann Granger.

‘The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry’s] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes’ – Cleveland Plain Dealer

The naked body of an aristocratic youth turns up in the sewers beneath Bluegate Fields, one of London’s most notorious slums. But Arthur Waybourne had been drowned in his bath, not in the Thames. More shocking still is the discovery that the boy had been violated and infected with syphilis before his murder. Despite Inspector Thomas Pitt’s efforts to investigate the crime, the family closes ranks, leaving him to wonder what they are hiding.

All evidence points to Arthur’s tutor, Jerome, as the murderer, but Pitt and his wife, Charlotte, don’t believe the answer is so simple. But if not Jerome, then who? To learn the truth, Charlotte uses her familiarity with the upper classes to draw aside the curtain of lies, while Pitt defies his superior and the boy’s family to follow a trail that leads him into the foulest streets of London through a web of deceit. In a race against time, Thomas and Charlotte must find the real killer to save Jerome from the hangman’s noose.

What readers are saying about Bluegate Fields:

‘A thought-provoking whodunit’

‘Yet again Anne Perry keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. Her knowledge of Victorian London is remarkable

Another winner for Anne Perry – five stars

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Cleveland Plain Dealer
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Faye Kellerman
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
New York Times Book Review
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
San Diego Union-Tribune
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
Guardian
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
New York Times
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
St. Petersburg Times
Descriptions of London's Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating
Publishers Weekly
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
The Wall Street Journal
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist