Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Death in the Devil's Acre (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 7)

On sale

26th March 2015

Price: £4.99

Selected:  ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472227584

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

From the slums of Devil’s Acre, to the elegant drawing rooms of Callander Square, there is always something to investigate…

In Death in the Devil’s Acre, Anne Perry’s seventh mystery featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, the Devil himself seems to be at work in the dark slums of Victorian London. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Harriet Smart.

‘Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry’s admirers’ – Publishers Weekly

A serial killer is loose in Devil’s Acre. The murders are brutal, but it is the killer’s grizzly signature that shocks even Inspector Thomas Pitt, no stranger to death and violent crime. The victims are stabbed and sexually mutilated. When Pitt recognises one of the dead as a blackmailing footman from a case on Callander Square, his investigation takes him from the slum brothels to the high reaches of Victorian society and into a world where upper-class women descend to depravity to relieve their boredom.

Despite Pitt’s warnings, his wife Charlotte is determined to pursue her own investigation in the elegant drawing rooms of Callander Square. As Pitt and Charlotte approach the same dangerous conclusion from differing paths, no one is spared – not even Pitt.

What readers are saying about Death in the Devil’s Acre:

‘Anne Perry scans the width and depths of Victoria society with skill and efficiency, bringing her characters to life so vividly

‘As always, Anne Perry excels

Five stars

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Rich in plot development, believable characters and period detail, this entry will only add to the already sizable ranks of Perry's admirers
Faye Kellerman
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
New York Times Book Review
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
San Diego Union-Tribune
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
Guardian
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
New York Times
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
Cleveland Plain Dealer
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
Publishers Weekly
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
The Wall Street Journal
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist