Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Rutland Place (Thomas Pitt Mystery, Book 5)

On sale

26th March 2015

Price: £4.99

Selected:  ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472227560

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Will the dangerous persistence of Charlotte and the quiet patience of Inspector Thomas Pitt make it possible to solve this most macabre and chilling mystery?

Anne Perry’s Rutland Place is the fifth novel featuring Thomas and Charlotte Pitt, which sees the duo uncovering the darkest and most desperate secrets hidden in fashionable Rutland Place.
Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sarah Perry.

‘When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company’ – New York Times

Charlotte Pitt’s mother has lost a locket holding a comprising picture. Arriving at her mother’s home at Rutland Place to help her search, Charlotte discovers that other residents of the exclusive neighbourhood have suffered similar unexplained small thefts. Then Mina Spencer-Brown, a woman known for prying, dies from poisoning. It seems likely that Mina’s snooping had led to her murder, but what secrets had she stumbled upon? And whose?

As Thomas Pitt patiently struggles to break down the protective silence of London’s high society, Charlotte works behind its closed doors to help unravel a mystery revealing sordid secrets and the chilling, dark corners of human behaviour.

What readers are saying about Rutland Place:

‘Once started, impossible to put the book down

Brilliant as usual’

‘Another excellent murder mystery – five stars

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

New York Times
When Anne Perry puts Thomas and Charlotte Pitt on the case, we are in exemplary Victorian company
Faye Kellerman
Her Victorian England pulsates with life and is peopled with wonderfully memorable characters
New York Times Book Review
Give her a good murder and a shameful social evil, and Anne Perry can write a Victorian mystery that would make Dickens' eyes pop out
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Murder fans who prefer their crimes with a touch of class should heat some scones and nestle back for the afternoon
San Diego Union-Tribune
When it comes to the Victorian mystery, Anne Perry has proved that nobody does it better
Guardian
Perry has a wonderful feel for period and remains utterly convincing
Cleveland Plain Dealer
The period detail remains fascinating, and [Perry's] grasp of Victorian character and conscience still astonishes
St. Petersburg Times
Descriptions of London's Upstairs/Downstairs society [are] historically illuminating
Publishers Weekly
With a steady hand at dissecting character and motivation, a keen grasp of social history and a flair for description of Victorian London, Perry guarantees a good read to those who like their murder in a believable historical and psychological context
The Wall Street Journal
[Anne] Perry's strengths: memorable characters and an ability to evoke the Victorian era with the finely wrought detail of a miniaturist