We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Quiet Death in Italy

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405543552

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 7th November 2019

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

‘The locale is brought to life . . . the plot keeps you guessing’ The Times

Bologna: city of secrets, suspicion . . . and murder

When the body of a radical protestor is found floating in one of Bologna’s underground canals, it seems that most of the city is ready to blame the usual suspects: the police.

But when private investigator Daniel Leicester, son-in-law to the former chief of police, receives a call from the dead man’s lover, he follows a trail that begins in the 1970s and leads all the way to the rotten heart of the present-day political establishment.

Beneath the beauty of the city, Bologna has a dark underside, and English detective Daniel must unravel a web of secrets, deceit and corruption – before he is caught in it himself.

A dark and atmospheric crime thriller set in the beautiful Italian city of Bologna, perfect for fans of Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin and Philip Gwynne Jones.

Reviews

The locale is brought to life, the characters come formed by their environment and history, and the plot keeps you guessing - even when you think you know what's coming. Promising start to a Bologna-set series
The Times
Benjamin gloriously evokes the porticoes and palazzos of the medieval city, along with its radical tradition and the corruption in the police, in a slow-burning, tense and brooding thriller which boasts the atmosphere and attention to detail that could only spring from a genuine love of the location
The Herald Scotland
A gritty page-turner . . . an absorbing read
Italia!