Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

A Quiet Death in Italy

A Quiet Death in Italy

‘The locale is brought to life . . . the plot keeps you guessing’ The Times

‘A slow-burning, tense and brooding thriller’ The Herald Scotland

___________

Bologna: city of secrets, suspicion . . . and murder


When the body of a radical protestor is found floating in one of Bologna’s underground canals, it seems that most of the city is ready to blame the usual suspects: the police.

But when private investigator Daniel Leicester, son-in-law to the former chief of police, receives a call from the dead man’s lover, he follows a trail that begins in the 1970s and leads all the way to the rotten heart of the present-day political establishment.

Beneath the beauty of the city, Bologna has a dark underside, and English detective Daniel must unravel a web of secrets, deceit and corruption – before he is caught in it himself.

A dark and atmospheric crime thriller set in the beautiful Italian city of Bologna, perfect for fans of Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin and Philip Gwynne Jones.
Read More

Genre: Europe / Southern Europe / Italy

On Sale: 7th November 2019

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472131560

Reviews

The locale is brought to life, the characters come formed by their environment and history, and the plot keeps you guessing - even when you think you know what's coming. Promising start to a Bologna-set series
The Times
Benjamin gloriously evokes the porticoes and palazzos of the medieval city, along with its radical tradition and the corruption in the police, in a slow-burning, tense and brooding thriller which boasts the atmosphere and attention to detail that could only spring from a genuine love of the location
The Herald Scotland