We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Superior crime fiction set in Iceland’ The Times

‘As chilling as an Icelandic winter’ S. J. Bolton

When a shipowner is found dead, tied to a bed in one of Reykjavik’s smartest hotels, Sergeant Gunnhildur sees no evidence of foul play.

However, she still suspects things are not as cut and dried as they seem and, as she investigates the shipowner’s untimely demise, she stumbles across a discreet bondage society whose members are being systematically exploited and blackmailed.

But how does all this connect to a local gangster recently returned to Iceland after many years abroad, and the unfortunate loss of a government laptop containing sensitive data about various members of the ruling party?

What begins as a straightforward case for Gunnhildur soon explodes into a dangerous investigation, uncovering secrets that ruthless men are ready to go to violent extremes to keep.

The third dark and atmospheric thriller in Quentin Bates’s Icelandic crime series. A chilling page-turner perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Søren Sveistrup’s The Chestnut Man.

Praise for Quentin Bates:

‘A great read – leaves you craving the next installment’ Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

‘A perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire’ The Bookbag

‘Well written and absorbing’ Woman’s Way

‘Captures the chilly spirit of Nordic crime fiction . . . Fans of Arnaldur Indridason’s Reykjavík mysteries will want to add Bates to their reading lists’ Booklist

‘[A] crackling fiction debut … palpable authenticity’ Publishers Weekly

‘A superb new series’ Eurocrime

Reviews

A beautifully crafted, intricately plotted, atmospheric thriller. Highly recommended
Crime Thriller Girl
A great read - leaves you craving the next installment
Yrsa Sigurðardóttir
A meticulously constructed thriller, peopled with exceptionally convincing characters and shot through with black humour. Frozen Out is as chilling as an Icelandic winter
S.J. Bolton
Superior crime fiction set in Iceland... this is a well constructed, well written and satisfying police procedural
The Times
[A] crackling fiction debut ... palpable authenticity
Publishers Weekly on Frozen Out
[With] an in-depth knowledge of just how Iceland works it's a perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire ... We've had quite a few books set in Iceland recently, but this one will give them a run for their money
The Bookbag on Frozen Out
A flying start to ... a superb new series
Eurocrime on Frozen Out