We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘As chilling as an Icelandic winter’ S. J. Bolton

‘Superior crime fiction set in Iceland’ The Times

A successful housebreaker who leaves no traces and no clues as he strips Reykjavík homes of their valuables has been a thorn in the police’s side for months.

But when one night the thief breaks into the wrong house, he finds himself caught in a trap as the stakes are raised far beyond anything he could have imagined.

Gunnhildur Gísladóttir of the Reykjavík police finds herself frustrated at every turn as she searches for a victim who has vanished from the scene of the crime, and wonders if it could be linked to the murders of two businessmen with dubious reputations that her bosses are warning her to keep clear of.

The fourth dark and atmospheric thriller in Quentin Bates’s Icelandic crime series. A chilling page-turner perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Søren Sveistrup’s The Chestnut Man.

Praise for Quentin Bates:

‘A great read – leaves you craving the next installment’ Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

‘A perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire’ The Bookbag

‘Well written and absorbing’ Woman’s Way

‘Captures the chilly spirit of Nordic crime fiction . . . Fans of Arnaldur Indridason’s Reykjavík mysteries will want to add Bates to their reading lists’ Booklist

‘[A] crackling fiction debut … palpable authenticity’ Publishers Weekly

‘A superb new series’ Eurocrime