We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A novella featuring Detective Gunnhildur of Quentin Bates’s Icelandic crime series. A dark and chilling thriller perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Søren Sveistrup’s The Chestnut Man.

It’s a bitter winter morning when Sergeant Gunnhildur is called to the scene of a violent killing in an abandoned industrial unit.

Gunna and her sidekick Helgi quickly find that the battered victim had no shortage of enemies.

The case takes Gunna around Reykjavík’s darker side and Helgi to the bleak rural district he grew up in as they work out who was prepared to take a grudge as far as murder.

Praise for Quentin Bates:

‘As chilling as an Icelandic winter’ S. J. Bolton

‘Superior crime fiction set in IcelandThe Times

‘A great read – leaves you craving the next installment’ Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

‘A perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire’ The Bookbag

‘Well written and absorbing’ Woman’s Way

‘Captures the chilly spirit of Nordic crime fiction . . . Fans of Arnaldur Indridason’s Reykjavík mysteries will want to add Bates to their reading lists’ Booklist

‘[A] crackling fiction debut … palpable authenticity’ Publishers Weekly

‘A superb new series’ Eurocrime