We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A family feud and one fateful night result in tragedy…

Under a Brighter Sky is a powerful and evocative saga by Wendy Robertson that tells the tale of two families, a bitter rivalry and the dramatic repercussions of one dark night. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Katie Flynn.


The Catholic Farrells and the non-conformist McNaughtons live in the same Durham mining village. It is only when the Farrells’ Aunt Biddy arrives from Ireland that the two clans finally meet, albeit disastrously. After this meeting it is the McNaughtons who are forced to look after Aunt Biddy and although Greg’s family is divided by Biddy’s presence, his thoughts remain with Biddy’s bright young niece, Shona Farrell.

It’s at Shona’s insistence that they all spend Christmas together. But the events of Boxing Night, when Margaret McNaughton is found wandering the streets and a local prostitute is murdered, leaves the finger of guilt pointing at Tommo Farrell. Distraught, Shona follows Tommo’s trail to Manchester, a trail which Douglas McNaughton is treading for reasons of his own…

What readers are saying about Wendy Robertson:

‘The gift of a true writer is in the telling of stories and characters that stay with you long after you close the book – and Wendy Robertson is one of those writers’

A skilful, imaginative novelist

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo