We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Will she have the courage to face her past…?

When the bright lights of the theatre collide with the old values of a small community, the stage is quite literally set for a tale of passion, drama and tragedy in No Rest For the Wicked, a gripping saga from much-loved author Wendy Robertson. Perfect for fans of Rita Bradshaw and Rosie Goodwin.


In the poverty-stricken years after the First World War, a travelling troupe of players arrives in the small Northern village of Bishop Auckland. With them is Pippa, a young French girl who has her own secrets. For her, and for so many of her companions, the troupe provides a sanctuary from the outside world. Protected by the lights, make-up and costumes, none of them notices what is going on underneath their very noses.

But when something tragic happens in the town within days of Pippa’s arrival, she is forced to start examining her old life and looking forward to a new one, no matter what the cost…

What readers are saying about Wendy Robertson:

‘The gift of a true writer is in the telling of stories and characters that stay with you long after you close the book – and Wendy Robertson is one of those writers’

A skilful, imaginative novelist’

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo