We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.


Tess Little’s The Ninth Guest is a locked-room mystery like no other . . .

We believed he had died from an overdose. There was no reason to suspect otherwise . . .

When Elspeth is invited to her ex-husband Richard’s fiftieth birthday party, she’s expecting a star-studded event for the famous British film director, full of A-listers and hangers-on. But she arrives to find just seven other carefully selected guests in attendance.

A surreal evening ensues, orchestrated by the charming yet manipulative host, culminating in what will surely become a night to remember . . .

Because by morning, Richard will be dead, and every guest a suspect.

‘Very intriguing’ Heat, Book of the Week

‘Tess Little is a modern Agatha Christie, setting up her nine suspects, locking them in a sprawling Los Angeles mansion, and knocking them down one by one’ Tanen Jones, author of The Better Liar

‘A unique locked-room mystery . . . Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley’ Wendy Walker, bestselling author of Don’t Look for Me

Reviews

A novel you will easily devour in just a few sittings, it's unexpected and immensely gripping, leaving you with lots to consider.
Selcouth
Dark, compelling Hollywood intrigue and a diverse cast of well-drawn characters make The Ninth Guest a unique locked-room mystery that readers will simply devour! It's perfect for fans of Lucy Foley
Wendy Walker, bestselling author of DON'T LOOK FOR ME
Tess Little is a modern Agatha Christie, setting up her nine suspects, locking them in a sprawling Los Angeles mansion, and knocking them down one by one over the course of a decadent, stomach-turning dinner party. The Ninth Guest kept me guessing until the very last
Tanen Jones, author of THE BETTER LIAR
With a knowing satirical eye, Tess Little skillfully weaves a page-turner full of satisfying twists and turns
Kyle McCarthy, author of EVERYONE KNOWS HOW MUCH I LOVE YOU
With skewering intensity and taut, unsettling prose, Tess Little plunges us into the kaleidoscopic glamour of Hollywood, where the eccentric birthday party of a brilliant, sadistic director forces the eruption of long-buried pain. Timely, smart and satisfying
Paula McLain, bestselling author of THE PARIS WIFE
Elspeth's emotional journey both grips and gratifies. Little is a writer to watch
Publisher's Weekly