We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Superior crime fiction set in Iceland’ The Times

‘As chilling as an Icelandic winter’ S. J. Bolton

Following her promotion and working now from Reykjavik, Gunnhildur is given responsibility for two cases – the first in tracking down an escaped convict who’s keen to settle old scores, and the other, the murder of a TV fitness presenter in her city centre apartment.

With the police short staffed and underfunded following the financial crash, Gunnhildur and her team set about delving into the backgrounds of both, where they uncover some unwelcome secrets and some influential friends of both who have no wish to be in the public eye.

Set in an Iceland that is coming to terms with the deepening recession, Gunnhildur has to take stock of the whirlwind changes that have taken place as she investigates criminals at opposite ends of the social scale as some uncomfortable links appear between the two cases.

The second dark and atmospheric thriller in Quentin Bates’s Icelandic crime series. A chilling page-turner perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo, Henning Mankell and Søren Sveistrup’s The Chestnut Man.

Praise for Quentin Bates:

‘A great read – leaves you craving the next installment’ Yrsa Sigurðardóttir

‘A perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire’ The Bookbag

‘Well written and absorbing’ Woman’s Way

‘Captures the chilly spirit of Nordic crime fiction . . . Fans of Arnaldur Indridason’s Reykjavík mysteries will want to add Bates to their reading lists’ Booklist

‘[A] crackling fiction debut … palpable authenticity’ Publishers Weekly

‘A superb new series’ Eurocrime

Reviews

'Superior crime fiction set in Iceland... this is a well constructed, well written and satisfying police procedural'
Marcel Berlins, The Times
[With] an in-depth knowledge of just how Iceland works it's a perfect book to curl up with in front of the fire ... We've had quite a few books set in Iceland recently, but this one will give them a run for their money
The Bookbag on Frozen Out
[A] crackling fiction debut ... palpable authenticity
Publishers Weekly on Frozen Out
A great read - leaves you craving the next installment
Yrsa Sigurðardóttir
A meticulously constructed thriller, peopled with exceptionally convincing characters and shot through with black humour. Frozen Out is as chilling as an Icelandic winter
S.J. Bolton
A flying start to ... a superb new series
Eurocrime on Frozen Out
Superior crime fiction set in Iceland... this is a well constructed, well written and satisfying police procedural
The Times