We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends

On sale

20th February 2014

Price: £5.49

Selected:  ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472114914

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The Mammoth Book of Arthurian Legends brings together many of the traditional stories about King Arthur along with several new interpretations of the legend to provide a complete picture of his birth, adventures, romance and fate. it traces Arthur’s exploits to gain the sword Excalibur, the conflict with his half sister Morgan, the birth of his bastard son Mordred, and the shadowy influence and fate of Merlin.

The collection also follows the adventures of many of Arthur’s knights including Sir Balin, Sir Percival, Sir Gawain, Sir Lanval, Sir Marrock, Sir John, Sir Tristan and of course, Sir Lancelot. This culminates in the mighty Quest for the Holy Grail, the breakup of the Round Table, and finally the usurping of the throne by Mordred and the death of Arthur at Camlann.

It even looks beyond the death of Arthur, Guinevere and Lancelot to a ghostly finale of love immortal.

Stories included are:
The Winning of a Sword by Howard Pyle
The Treason of Morgan le Fay by George Cox
The Knight with Two Swords by John Steinbeck
Sir Percival of Wales by Roger Lancelyn Green
The Romance of Tristan and Iseult by Hillaire Belloc
The Quest for the Holy Grail by Andrew Lang
Guinevere and Lancelot by Andrew machen
The Lady of Belec by Phyllis Anne Karr
The Quiet Monk by Jane Yolen