Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Alice and the Fly

On sale

15th January 2015

Price: £9.99

Select a format

Selected: Digital (deliver electronic) / ISBN-13: 9781444790115

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Powerful’ Closer

‘A darkly quirky story of love, obsession and fear . . . a beautiful story hung around the enchanting and heartbreaking voice of teenager Greg’ Anna James

Miss Hayes has a new theory. She thinks my condition’s caused by some traumatic incident from my past I keep deep-rooted in my mind. As soon as I come clean I’ll flood out all these tears and it’ll all be ok and I won’t be scared of Them anymore.

The truth is I can’t think of any single traumatic childhood incident to tell her. I mean, there are plenty of bad memories – Herb’s death, or the time I bit the hole in my tongue, or Finners Island, out on the boat with Sarah – but none of these are what caused the phobia. I’ve always had it. It’s Them.

I’m just scared of Them. It’s that simple.

For fans of Sarah Winman, Junot Diaz and Maria Semple, Alice and the Fly is an unforgettable book about phobias and obsessions, isolation and dark corners, families, friendships, and carefully preserved secrets. But above everything else it’s about love. Finding love – in any of its forms – and nurturing it.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

We Love this Book
'Alice and the Fly is a stunning novel but as a debut work it is outstanding, marking out James Rice as a new talent to watch. This is a vivid and profoundly disturbing book which will stay with you long after you have closed it. Tremendously dark at times, it also pulls off the rare trick of being funny and engaging'
Liz Loves Books
'A beautifully written, haunting, evocative and immensely accomplished tale... this is a novel that demands that you make people read it - James Rice is one to watch. Don't miss it.'
Closer
A powerful novel
Big Issue in the North
A stunning and fresh debut
Anna James, <i>The Bookseller </i>
Alice and the Fly is a darkly quirky story of love, obsession and fear. A disconcerting but beautiful story hung around the enchanting and heartbreaking voice of teenager Greg.
Woman & Home
An intriguing and moving story
Bella
'At times uncomfortable but always captivating. A wonderful debut novel - Greg's unique voice will stay with you long after the shocking climax.'
Red
Fresh, original and a bit crazy
<i>Red</i> magazine online
Fresh, original and a bit crazy
Ramsia the Authoress blog
Heartbreaking, haunting and unforgettable... Even after putting the book down, my mind continues to recall parts of the book, think about particular parts that engaged, disturbed, saddened me; the mark of a truly remarkable piece
House of Blog
I was hugely impressed with this. As a debut novel, it is an enormous, powerful, punchy story with the perfect balance of grit and entertainment. It's been a while since I read something that has had this much power. Rice is a clever writer, with enough wits about him to build strong characters and plot, without dividing attention from either
Scot Williams, Actor
'It's incredible... The best thing!'
Helen Walsh, author of <i>The Lemon Grove </i>
'One of the most stunning debuts I've read in a long time. The talent behind it is huge.'
Independent
Rice's stylistic verve and skillful storytelling make us keen to discover if we're right to be fearful for his characters, while also raising pertinent questions about social divisions and the way outsiders are treated today
The Reading Fan Girl Blog
The writing was stunning and the plot was incredibly intriguing
Inside Soap
'This enchanting story centres around friendship, family and phobias - and, most importantly of all, love'
OK!
'This is a dark and intriguing story of love, obsession and fear - a Captivating Read *****'
Guardian
'This is a novel about loneliness, and Rice vividly evokes the isolation of all those trapped inside the need to present a socially valid exterior. His writing is fuelled by a powerful sense of empathy, even for those whose aspirations he so expertly ridicules. For all the bleakness it portrays Alice and the Fly is an oddly uplifting novel'