We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Murder Inside

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405551687

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 28th October 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery / Classic Crime

‘Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers’ Daily Mail

1969. A job in the Prison Service is not for everyone. The training is hard, the cells are bleak and a thick skin is needed. But for Nell Lewis, helping prisoners is something she cares about deeply, and when she’s promoted into a new post as governor of HMP Brackerley in Yorkshire, she’s tasked with transforming the renowned run-down facility into a modern, open prison for women.

Just as Nell is settling into her new role, events take a dark turn when a man’s body is discovered in the prison grounds. The mystery deepens still when one of their female inmates goes missing, ensuing a search across the country.

Can Nell resolve the sinister happenings at HMP Brackerley, before anyone else is put in danger?

From the bestselling author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries comes a new classic crime series set in 1960s Yorkshire and starring prison governor Nell Lewis. This is the perfect page-turner for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

Reviews

Praise for Frances Brody:
Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive
Ann Cleeves
Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers
Daily Mail
Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine
Ann Granger
Delightful
People's Friend
Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish
Barry Turner, Daily Mail
Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines
Literary Review
I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character
Woman's Way

Brackerley Prison Mysteries