We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers’ Daily Mail

1969. A job in the Prison Service is not for everyone. The training is hard, the cells are bleak and a thick skin is needed. But for Nell Lewis, helping prisoners is something she cares about deeply, and when she’s promoted into a new post as governor of HMP Brackerley in Yorkshire, she’s tasked with transforming the renowned run-down facility into a modern, open prison for women.

Just as Nell is settling into her new role, events take a dark turn when a man’s body is discovered in the prison grounds. The mystery deepens still when one of their female inmates goes missing, ensuing a search across the country.

Can Nell resolve the sinister happenings at HMP Brackerley, before anyone else is put in danger?

From the bestselling author of the Kate Shackleton mysteries comes a new classic crime series set in 1960s Yorkshire and starring prison governor Nell Lewis. This is the perfect page-turner for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

Reviews

Praise for Frances Brody:
Brody's writing is like her central character Kate Shackleton: witty, acerbic and very, very perceptive
Ann Cleeves
Frances Brody has made it to the top rank of crime writers
Daily Mail
Kate Shackleton is a splendid heroine
Ann Granger
Delightful
People's Friend
Frances Brody matches a heroine of free and independent spirit with a vivid evocation of time and place . . . a novel to cherish
Barry Turner, Daily Mail
Kate Shackleton joins Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs in a subgroup of young, female amateur detectives who survived and were matured by their wartime experiences. As self-reliant women in a society that still regards them a second-class citizens, they make excellent heroines
Literary Review
I really adore this series and Kate is such a strong, level-headed character
Woman's Way

Brackerley Prison Mysteries