We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘One brilliantly compelling page-turner’ Closer .

Two strangers meet on a train. Only one gets off…

Critically acclaimed author Emily Barr presents The Sleeper, a shocking psychological thriller where infidelity puts Lara in great danger. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl and Sophie Hannah.

‘We can’t praise Emily Barr’s novels enough; they’re fresh, original and hugely readable’ Glamour

Lara Finch is living a lie…

Everyone thinks she has a happy life in Cornwall, married to the devoted Sam, but in fact she is desperately bored. When she is offered a new job that involves commuting to London by sleeper train, she meets Guy and starts an illicit affair.

When Lara vanishes from the night train without leaving a trace, only her friend Iris disbelieves the official version of events, and sets out to find her. For Iris, it is the start of a voyage that will take her further than she’s ever travelled and on to a trail of old crimes and dark secrets.

For Lara, it is the end of a journey that started a long time ago. A journey she must finish, before it destroys her…

‘A great read from start to finish … believable characters that are variously biting, insightful and sympathetic.’ The Times

Readers love The Sleeper:

‘ I was hooked from the first page’ ***** Amazon reviewer

Well written, fascinating characters and slowly draws you in until it is totally unputdownable‘ ***** Amazon reviewer

‘This was spell-binding and I had great difficulty putting it down‘ ***** Amazon reviewer

Beautifully written and intriguing’ ***** Amazon reviewer

Reviews

The Sleeper makes for breathless, compulsive reading, with characters so real you almost feel like you know them well enough to ring them up and ask them what on earth is going on. Emily achieves what other writers cannot - her books are just getting better and better.
Elizabeth Haynes
We can't praise Emily Barr's novels enough; they're fresh, original and hugely readable
Glamour
Sleep-sabotagingly moreish
Cosmopolitan
A great read from start to finish...believable characters that are variously biting, insightful and sympathetic
The Times
A gripping piece of fiction spiked with an unnerving amount of psychological tension
Kirkus
One brilliantly compelling page-turner
Closer
A tense and gritty read with echoes of Daphne du Maurier's Don't Look Now
Telegraph