We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781409135487

Price: £9.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A brooding, contemporary novel of secrets, lost love, perfume and Provence for fans of Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft

A modern day Rebecca, complete with an eerie house … and nail-biting happenings’ ESSENTIALS

When Eve falls for the secretive, charming Dom, their whirlwind relationship leads them to purchase Les Genevriers, an abandoned house in a rural hamlet in the south of France.

As the beautiful Provence summer turns to autumn, Eve finds it impossible to ignore the mysteries that haunt both her lover and the run-down old house, in particular the mysterious disappearance of his beautiful first wife, Rachel.

Whilst Eve tries to untangle the secrets surrounding Rachel’s last recorded days, Les Genevriers itself seems to come alive. As strange events begin to occur with frightening regularity, Eve’s voice becomes intertwined with that of Benedicte Lincel, a girl who lived in the house decades before.

As the tangled skeins of the house’s history begin to unravel, the tension grows between Dom and Eve. In a page-turning race, Eve must fight to discover the fates of both Benedicte and Rachel, before Les Genevriers’ dark history has a chance to repeat itself.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Time-slip novels are tricky to get right and this one nails it.
Amanda Ross, SHE
A modern day Rebecca, complete with an eerie house ... and nail-biting happenings.
ESSENTIALS
'A perfect summer read - a perfect read for any time you want to be wrapped up in a great story - I recommend The Lantern unreservedly.'
CORNFLOWER BOOKS BLOG
Set against the stunning backdrop of the Luberon region, The Lantern is a beautifully written story of mystery and love in France.
FRANCE MAGAZINE
'Deborah Lawrenson's new novel, a modern Gothic tale set in the lavender-scented landscape of Provence, serves up an escapist mix of mystery, romance and murder.'
WALL STREET JOURNAL
This is a beautiful story with exquisitely dark undertones.
RELISH READS BLOG
Time-slip novels are tricky to get right and this one nails it
Amanda Ross, SHE
A modern day Rebecca, complete with an eerie house ... and nail-biting happenings
ESSENTIALS
Deborah Lawrenson's new novel, a modern Gothic tale set in the lavender-scented landscape of Provence, serves up an escapist mix of mystery, romance and murder
WALL STREET JOURNAL
This is a beautiful story with exquisitely dark undertones
RELISH READS BLOG
A perfect summer read - a perfect read for any time you want to be wrapped up in a great story - I recommend The Lantern unreservedly
CORNFLOWER BOOKS BLOG
Set against the stunning backdrop of the Luberon region, The Lantern is a beautifully written story of mystery and love in France
FRANCE MAGAZINE