Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Lantern

The Lantern

A brooding, contemporary novel of secrets, lost love, perfume and Provence for fans of Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft

When Eve falls for the secretive, charming Dom, their whirlwind relationship leads them to purchase Les Genevriers, an abandoned house in a rural hamlet in the south of France.

As the beautiful Provence summer turns to autumn, Eve finds it impossible to ignore the mysteries that haunt both her lover and the run-down old house, in particular the mysterious disappearance of his beautiful first wife, Rachel.

Whilst Eve tries to untangle the secrets surrounding Rachel’s last recorded days, Les Genevriers itself seems to come alive. As strange events begin to occur with frightening regularity, Eve’s voice becomes intertwined with that of Benedicte Lincel, a girl who lived in the house decades before.

As the tangled skeins of the house’s history begin to unravel, the tension grows between Dom and Eve. In a page-turning race, Eve must fight to discover the fates of both Benedicte and Rachel, before Les Genevriers’ dark history has a chance to repeat itself.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Modern & Contemporary Fiction (post C 1945)

On Sale: 23rd June 2011

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781409135487

Reviews

Time-slip novels are tricky to get right and this one nails it.
Amanda Ross, SHE
A modern day Rebecca, complete with an eerie house ... and nail-biting happenings.
ESSENTIALS
'A perfect summer read - a perfect read for any time you want to be wrapped up in a great story - I recommend The Lantern unreservedly.'
CORNFLOWER BOOKS BLOG
Set against the stunning backdrop of the Luberon region, The Lantern is a beautifully written story of mystery and love in France.
FRANCE MAGAZINE
'Deborah Lawrenson's new novel, a modern Gothic tale set in the lavender-scented landscape of Provence, serves up an escapist mix of mystery, romance and murder.'
WALL STREET JOURNAL
This is a beautiful story with exquisitely dark undertones.
RELISH READS BLOG