We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A bewitching novel of secrets, lost love, perfume and Provence, from the best-selling author of 300 Days of Sun. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft.



An abandoned house in Provence is brought back to life to reveal its hidden past and dark secrets…

When Eve falls for the charming, secretive Dom, their whirlwind romance leads them to Les Genevriers, a run-down, yet beautiful house in the South of France. But as summer fades to autumn, Eve finds it impossible to ignore the mysteries the house seems to be hiding – not least the strange disappearance of Dom’s beautiful first wife. And what is the connection to a young girl who lived in the house decades before?

As Les Genevriers’ tangled history begins to unravel, and Dom grows increasingly distant, Eve must discover the secrets of the past – before history has a chance to repeat itself.

********

Praise for Deborah Lawrenson:

‘I absolutely adored this beautifully written, modern Gothic novel…The Lantern will hook you in from the start and weave its dark, lush magic around you’ – Tatiana de Rosnay, author of Sarah’s Key

‘An excellent, evocative read’ – EllyBlue, Amazon reviewer

‘An enthralling read, and I loved it’ – Annie, Amazon reviewer