Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Perilous Times

On sale

23rd May 2023

Price: £24.99

Select a format

Selected: Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405557955

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

ONE OF THE TIMES’ BEST AUDIOBOOKS FOR SUMMER 2023

‘Lee’s first novel has deservedly rocketed into the bestseller list thanks to grassroots enthusiasm. If you like Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, you’ll enjoy Perilous Times, especially since Damian Lynch’s engaged and spirited narration does it proud. Wryly witty, it’s an utterly original take on Arthurian myth’
The Times, audiobook review


IN PERILOUS TIMES LIKE THESE, THE REALM DOESN’T JUST NEED A HERO.

IT NEEDS A KNIGHT IN SHINING ARMOUR.

Sir Kay and his fellow knights awake from their mythical slumber whenever Britain has need of them; they fought at Agincourt and at the Somme. But in these perilous modern times, the realm is more divided than ever, a dragon has been seen for the first time in centuries, and Kay is not the only ancient and terrible thing to come crawling up out of the ground . . .

Perilous Times is a fiercely entertaining contemporary take on the myths of Camelot, which asks: what happens when the Knights of the Round Table return to fix the problems of the modern world?

This debut is perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett, Neil Gaiman, Jodi Taylor and Ben Aaronovitch.

**************************
AN INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER
**************************

This audacious, original debut is angry as well as entertaining, and an exciting new take on the Matter of Britain’ Guardian

‘Funny, weird, wise, lovely, and full of mad sh*t. You’ve never read anything like it before, and you should bang that order button now’ Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

‘Lee has brought Arthur’s legends into these modern, perilous, timesFantasy Hive

‘Like Good Omens with Arthurian knights. I’ve never read a book that treads so happily the ground between making you think, and making you laugh out loud‘ Beth Underdown

‘I HOWLED my way through this book! Smart, funny, refreshing fantasy. . . Anyone who liked Rivers of London will love this’ Natasha Pulley

‘Forget the once-and-future-king; this is a once-and-future classic’ Jackson Ford

‘Lee has a maestro’s eye for satire’ Richard Swan

‘A brilliant collision of ancient mysticism with modern madness’ Robert Jackson Bennett

Relentlessly entertaining, deadpan hilarious and full of heart. Give it five pages and you’ll be hooked’ Scott Hawkins

‘Maintains a steady faith in humanity’s ability to bring itself back from the brink’ Publishers Weekly

‘Perilous Times has knights, mad science, corporate villainy . . . and dragons ready to burn it all down… delightful‘ Kevin Hearne

‘An awesomely accomplished debutDaily Mail

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Stuart Turton, author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Funny, weird, wise, lovely, and full of mad sh*t. You've never read anything like it before, and you should bang that order button now
Library Journal (starred review)
A breakneck pace and a compelling urgency that pulls readers along on a wild, glorious, and epic ride . . . Highly recommended
Jackson Ford, author of The Girl Who Could Move Sh*t With Her Mind
Lee's tale of the Knights of the Round Table awaking in the modern world grabs hold and won't let go. Forget the once-and-future-king; this is a once-and-future classic
Guardian
This audacious, original debut is angry as well as entertaining, and an exciting new take on the Matter of Britain
Richard Swan, author of The Justice of Kings
Lee has a maestro's eye for satire
Claire North, author of Ithaca
Angry, funny, grounded in a vital, urgent reality and soaring with joyous fantasy - a needful delight of a book
Kevin Hearne
It's rare to find a book so entertaining yet thematically juicy. Perilous Times has knights, mad science, corporate villainy, radicals from the far fringes of the left and right . . . and dragons ready to burn it all down. A delightful and poignant read for our times
Daily Mail
An awesomely accomplished debut
Fantasy Hive
Lee has brought Arthur's legends into these modern, perilous, times and has gifted us a story worthy of that canon
Publishers Weekly
Maintains a steady faith in humanity's ability to bring itself back from the brink; swords can do more than cleave if they become rallying symbols for folks who do not recognize their own heroism. Readers with a love of Arthurian romance and ecological optimism will appreciate Mariam and Kay's struggles and triumphs
Robert Jackson Bennett
Enormous fun, combining razor sharp wit with savage political commentary, propulsive action, and near-endless Arthurian Easter Eggs. A brilliant collision of ancient mysticism with modern madness
Nicholas Eames
Wow, what a book. Hilarious, heartwarming . . . such a fun, fresh twist on the Arthurian legend. All great fantasy is escapist, but this one offers a hard, and quite necessary, dose of reality as well
Natasha Pulley, author of The Watchmaker of Filigree Street
I HOWLED my way through this book! Smart, funny, refreshing fantasy, full of vivid characters who will bring a lot of joy to a lot of people . . . Anyone who liked Rivers of London will love this
Scott Hawkins
Perilous Times is a gloriously fun book, easily the best I've read this year. It's relentlessly entertaining, deadpan hilarious and full of heart. Give it five pages and you'll be hooked.
Beth Underdown, author of The Witchfinder's Sister
Like Good Omens with Arthurian knights. Both massively escapist and a persuasive call to action - I've never read a book that treads so happily the ground between making you think, and making you laugh out loud.
The Times
If you like Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, you'll enjoy Perilous Times . . . wryly witty, it's an utterly original take on Arthurian myth