We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Esta has known nothing but Eden’s Isle her whole life. Raised by her grandmother, after a fire claimed her parents and scarred her face as a child, Esta faces a life of piety and dread, bound to a religious society who cut themselves off from the mainland in the name of salvation. The island is governed by a fear of the outside world and the corrupting evil, lurking deep in the water known as the Seawomen. They fear the water, and the only way to remain virtuous is never to enter the sea, to follow God’s word, but curious Esta longs for more.

Women on the island are controlled, married off and must conceive a child within the twelve months of their appointed motheryear. If she doesn’t bear a child in that year, she is marked as cursed, and cast back into the sea as a sacrifice, in an act called the Untethering.

When Esta witnesses a woman Untethered before her eyes she sees a future to fear. Her fate awaits, a loveless marriage, her motheryear declared. But before long, Esta gets a taste of freedom and the insular world she knows begins to unravel.

Reviews

A gripping tale of love and bravery; The Seawomen immerses you in its watery world.
Sophie Ward, author of Booker longlisted <i>Love and Thought Experiments</i>
This book sucked me under and held me in its gorgeous, terrifying embrace. It's a rare treat to read a story so gripping told in such beautiful prose. Dive in and don't look back.
Zoe Gilbert, author of <i>Folk</i>
A tale as slippery as a fish... I was never quite sure of what things were. Feminist allegory, modern folklore, or romance? Maybe The Seawomen is all of those things, and more. In any case, I was hooked.
Natasha Brown, author of <i>Assembly</i>, Natasha Brown, author of Goldsmiths Prize shortlisted <i>Assembly</i>
Richly atmospheric, powerful and provocative. A raw and beautiful coming of age story.
Caroline Lea, author of <i>The Glass Woman</i>
Fiercely feminist and utterly unique. Timms is a bold new talent. This is a story about oppression, the bonds that tie us - and the lies that break us. Suspenseful and intensely engaging, from Timms' lyrical writing to the genre-bending, unpredictable plot, you won't be able to put this one down.
Natasha Ngan, bestselling author of the <i>Girls of Paper and Fire</i> series
Hold your breath and hang on to hope. Perfect for fans of The Gloaming by Kirsty Logan and The Mercies by Kiran Millwood Hargrave, The Seawomen is a captivating and sometimes terrifying debut that will sweep you out to sea.
Jen Campbell, author of The Beginning of the World in the Middle of the Night