We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

In years of industrial change and the cataclysm of the Great War, the lives of two young people intertwine…

In Riches of the Earth, Wendy Robertson writes a moving saga of two young people, whose happiness is blighted by family, tragedy and war. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Dilly Court.


‘A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult’ – Mail on Sunday

1895, County Durham. The Laydon Joneses are new to Selby Street and appear to be just another Welsh family come to work the local mines. But Carodoc Laydon Jones, dour and unforgiving, is a force to be reckoned with, be it down the pit, at chapel or in his own house where he rules with an iron fist. His daughter Susannah has inherited his strength but is determined not to take on his bitterness. This is part of the reason she is deeply intrigued by Jonty Clelland, a young pacifist schoolmaster, who is everything her father is not. But just when it seems that the attraction between them might finally blossom into love, an unthinkable tragedy occurs…

What readers are saying about Riches of the Earth:

Superb characterisation adds to the wonderful, unfolding story

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo