We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A moving saga of ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances…

From the medieval spires of Coventry to the clustered pit villages of the north, Wendy Robertson’s powerful saga, Land of Your Possession, traces lives changed irrevocably by war. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Rita Bradshaw.


‘This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list’ – Women’s Realm

1940. German bombers target Coventry nightly, but pregnant young mother Lizza King is reluctant to leave the city and her husband Roland. Only after her daughter is killed in a raid does Lizza leave for south Durham.

While Priorton is safer from enemy attack, it is not without drama. Lizza’s sister is still recovering from being raped. Her nephew dreams of heroic deeds, while toying with Josie’s affections. Josie is growing up herself, working in the munitions factory by day and dancing the nights away. And Lizza, awaiting the birth of her baby while her husband is increasingly distant, is irresistibly drawn to the Polish refugee and artist, Krystoff, who alone understands her.

What readers are saying about Wendy Robertson:

‘The gift of a true writer is in the telling of stories and characters that stay with you long after you close the book – and Wendy Robertson is one of those writers’

A skilful, imaginative novelist

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo