We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A saga of a divided family and the unwanted child who reunites them.

Honesty’s Daughter is a compelling saga from Wendy Robertson that reaches out from Durham to Colorado Springs to wartime France, and links the lives, passions, tragedies and triumphs of a troubled family. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Rosie Goodwin.


Robertson handles skilfully a transitional world in which both values and people change. A heart-rending tale of love and hardship’ – Lancashire Evening Post

Carmel Benbow’s first love has always been her garden and, since her husband’s death, little else has occupied her. But her children, long-starved of a mother’s affections are suffering. Seventeen-year-old Michael John is a vicious bully, his younger brother, Ambrose, his primary target, and Astrid, the eldest, is embroiled in a highly unsuitable affair.

As the First World War approaches, the family is on the verge of disintegration, but help comes from an unusual source. Keziah, a lifelong friend, traveller and horse-dealer, uses her controversial magic on the family, but will her influence be enough to rescue Michael John from himself, Ambrose from Michael John and Astrid from her lover?

What readers are saying about Honesty’s Daughter:

‘This is a [well] rounded story with a lovely flavour of Co. Durham’

The characters are delightful

‘A very warm read – five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: Robertson handles skilfully a transitional world in which both values and people change. A heart-rending tale of love and hardship
Lancashire Evening Post
A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo