We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Can a family survive the shocking secret that threatens to change their whole world?

Family Ties is a powerful saga from much-loved author, Wendy Robertson, which charts the ties that bind a family together across four generations. Perfect for fans of Kitty Neale and Dilly Court.


‘Skilfully marries fact and fiction into an epic tale that has you turning the pages at high speed to match the pace of this compelling story’ – Sunderland Echo

In 1991, Bronwen Carmichael is a student at Durham University. Researching aspects of the Second World War, she comes across her mother Rosa’s journal, written in 1954 when Rosa was thirteen and England was recovering from the war. And, as Bronwen discovers, it was a dark time in Rosa’s childhood too.

At the heart of the diary is a deep family secret which now, fifty years later, could severely disturb the self-contained Carmichael women. This secret has tied the family – matriarch Kate, writer Rosa, academic Bronwen, and daughter Lily – with invisible cords which now threaten to break and change the family forever…

What readers are saying about Family Ties:

‘This is a compelling read from beginning to end’

‘An intriguing family [saga] full of mystery

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: Skilfully marries fact and fiction into an epic tale that has you turning the pages at high speed to match the pace of this compelling story
Sunderland Echo
A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo