We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

An encounter with a dying Frenchman changes a young woman’s life forever…

In the second instalment of the Kitty Rainbow trilogy by Wendy Robertson, Children of the Storm is a passionate saga of tragedy, love and madness during the First World War. Perfect for fans of Rita Bradshaw and Sheila Newberry.


The First World War. Pupil-teacher Mara Scorton’s world is one of ill-lit classrooms and the sight of unshod feet shining purplish in the cold winter light. And, though she is little more than a girl herself, Mara loves her job in the Hartlepool dockland school, despite the imperious ways of her headmaster Mr Clonmel. But her world falls apart when a German warship demolishes the school and Mr Clonmel is killed.

Mara is handed a mysterious package by a dying Frenchman addressed to his children in her home town of Priorton. Mara returns home, accompanied by her annoying but seemingly harmless landlady, to her warm unorthodox family. And to the house of Jean-Paul and his deranged, damaged sister Helene – two French refugees who will have long-lasting effect on the stormy years to come…

What readers are saying about Children of the Storm:

‘Wendy Robertson tells an absorbing story with strong women battling against the odds’

‘The setting moves from the northeast of England to the trenches in France and the makeshift hospitals in Russia, and all are vividly depicted

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendy Robertson: A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo

Kitty Rainbow Trilogy