We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

An abandoned baby. A troubled childhood. A search for belonging.

Kitty Rainbow is a gripping Victorian saga, and the first instalment of the Kitty Rainbow trilogy from Wendy Robertson, that follows a young woman’s discovery of where her heart truly belongs. Perfect for fans of Cathy Sharp and Josephine Cox.


When the soft-hearted, bare-knuckle fighter Ishmael Slaughter rescues an abandoned baby from the swirling River Wear, he knows that if he returns home with her his predatory employer will give the child short shrift – or worse. So it is to Janine Druce, a Scottish draperwoman with a dubious reputation but a child of her own that he takes the baby – whom he has christened Kitty Rainbow.

Kitty grows up wild and stubborn in Janine’s tough household but she is as fierce in her affections as she is in her hatreds. And she saves her greatest affection for Ishmael, the now ageing boxer who is the only link with her true parentage – apart from the scrap of blue cloth she was wrapped in when he found her. Eventually the cloth leads Kitty to her true origins – a discovery that shakes the very essence of her being – but eventually allows her to resume the life she so passionately embraces…

What readers are saying about Kitty Rainbow:

‘Wendy Robertson draws such a realistic picture of a town in the northeast of England in the nineteenth century’

Peopled with strong characters, good and bad, rich and poor, that the reader endures Kitty’s hardships and fights her battles with her, cheers when she wins and worries with Ishmael about what is to become of her’

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Wendt Robertson: A powerful writer inspired by history, her much loved home region and her experience of working-class life at its poorest and most difficult
Mail on Sunday
If you like a homespun yarn, you'll love this
Belfast Telegraph
This wonderful historical saga has to be on your reading list
Women’s Realm
Her work is inspiring and challenging
Sunderland Echo
Wendy's great strength, as well as the ability to tell a good story, is in the creation of her characters. These are real people with faults and strengths so we actually care about them... Wendy's style is deceptively easy
Northern Echo

Kitty Rainbow Trilogy