We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781529339260

Price: £14.99

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE WATERSTONES DEBUT FICTION PRIZE

‘An American epic’ Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists

‘As hopeful as it is heartbreaking’ Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone

‘An unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth’ Robert Jones Jr, bestselling author of The Prophets


Fleeing her husband’s explosive temper, Miriam has brought her two daughters, Joan and Mya, back to Memphis, to the home her father built in the 40s.

Joan was only a child the last time she visited Memphis. She doesn’t remember the bustle of Beale Street on a summer’s night or the smell of honeysuckle as she climbs the porch steps to her aunt’s house. But when the front door opens, she does remember her cousin Derek.

As Joan learns more about her family’s past she discovers she’s not the only North woman to have experienced great hurt. But she also sees their resilience and courage, how these extraordinary women fry green tomatoes and braid hair and sing all the while.

Memphis has changed since Joan’s grandparents lived there. Streets once filled with the beat of protest and blues, now echo with gunfire. But Joan still looks for the beauty in this city, in its people – and she realizes that to make a future for herself, she must find her own song to sing.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Written with the grace of a poet, Memphis is as hopeful as it is heartbreaking. I fell in love with this family, from Joan's fierce heart to her grandmother Hazel's determined resilience. Tara Stringfellow will be an author to watch for years to come . . . A stellar debut
Jacqueline Woodson, bestselling author of Red at the Bone
In luminous, lyrical prose, Tara Stringfellow sings the song of the North women - and the North men - with wisdom, humor, and deep humanity. Memphis is an American epic, a tribute to life in all of its sorrow and joyful resilience
Chloe Benjamin, bestselling author of The Immortalists
An evocative, compelling tale . . . Tara M Stringfellow assembles an endearing and unforgettable cast of characters who find strength in vulnerability, safety in art, and liberation in telling the truth. This is a shining, splendid testimony in the vein of Gloria Naylor, Delores Phillips, Ayana Mathis, and Honorée Jeffers
Robert Jones, Jr., New York Times bestselling author of The Prophets
This vivid debut novel examines the tragedies, joys, and deep connections of one extraordinary Memphis family . . . A powerful family saga from a promising writer
Booklist
This poetic, multigenerational story is set in the ancestral Memphis home a mother and her daughters flee to to escape the father's violence. Spanning 70 years, and told through a variety of voices, this powerful debut novel encompasses race, class, and the legacy of trauma
Oprah Daily Most Anticipated
This beautifully written debut will transport, challenge and transfix you . . . The novel is an ode to the city and the Black women living there. There's a great sense of the women's enigma and enchantment, humour and fortitude
Adele Parks, Platinum Magazine
A stunning debut, a deeply affecting portrait of familial bonds. Rich with indelible black women and Southern charm
Irenosen Okojie
I fell in love with this book by the end of the second paragraph. This story truly touched my soul. A talented new author who is definitely one to watch
Prima, Book of the Month
If ever there was a novel that reflects how the past can shape us, and how we can change our story, it's this stunning debut . . . this beautifully told and inspiring story is full of hope
Woman and Home
An accomplished debut
Good Housekeeping
An incredible read
Bella
Charting the story of three generations of women from a family in Memphis, this debut delivers an epic yet intimate history of black womanhood - ideal for fans of The Vanishing Half and An American Marriage
Cosmo
Black American literature at its finest . . . a symphony of stories
Irish Independent
A rhapsodic hymn to Black women
The New York Times Book Review
Stunning . . . a spectacular debut rich with Southern charm . . . a celebration of sisterhood and life
Voice Magazine
Ferocious and compassionate . . . Stringfellow deftly weaves the voices of four vivid, formidable and funny women over three generations . . . Memphis reaches back to literary mothers and towards potential daughters, honouring the strength, creativity and resilience of Black women
Irish Times
Memphis is at once a sprawling generational epic and an intimate character study . . . There is sorrow in these pages, but there is also joy and wit and warmth . . . incredibly satisfying [and] deeply affecting
Roxane Gay
I love this book. I couldn't put it down. You will fall in love with these women who gather strength from one another's care amidst a world of heartbreak, racism, and violence. Filled with Fifties music, this book went straight to my heart
Al Woodworth, Amazon Editor, Amazon Best Books of April 2002