We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

More Than Just a Pretty Face

More Than Just a Pretty Face

A deliciously entertaining rom-com.’ – Nandini Bajpai, author of A Match Made in Mehendi

Danyal Jilani doesn’t lack confidence. He may not be the smartest guy in the room, but he’s funny, gorgeous, and going to make a great chef one day. His father doesn’t approve of his career choice, but that hardly matters. What does matter is the opinion of Danyal’s longtime crush, the perfect-in-all-ways Kaval, and her family, who consider him a less than ideal arranged marriage prospect.

When Danyal gets selected for Renaissance Man, a school-wide academic championship, it’s the perfect opportunity to show everyone he’s smarter than they think. He recruits the brilliant, totally-uninterested-in-him Bisma to help with the competition, but the more time Danyal spends with her . . . the more he learns from her…the more he cooks for her . . . the more he realizes that happiness may be staring him right in his pretty face.

In this young adult debut full of depth and heart, author Syed M. Masood will have readers laughing, sighing, tearing up, and shouting ‘YES!’ at the top of their lungs. Perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon and Jenny Han.

Praise for MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE


‘A laugh-out-loud yet heartwarming story about familial obligations, friendship, and love. Syed M. Masood has created an unforgettable cast of characters with the utterly charming, hilarious, and most endearing Danyal Jilani at the center of it. A thoroughly enjoyable read and a great addition to any bookshelf.’ – Sabina Khan, author of The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali

Funny, open-hearted, and utterly charming, More Than Just a Pretty Face perfectly captures the joys of friendship and first love, as well as all the complexities of identity, faith, and family. This is a spectacular debut.’ – Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous

‘Hilarious and teeming with heart, More Than Just a Pretty Face challenged me, wounded me, made me laugh, and made me love. Danyal has secured his place as a heroic protagonist for the ages who only wants the very best for those he loves. His friends and family are so lucky to have him, and readers will be lucky to have Syed M. Masood’s debut. I am a forever fan.’ Erin Hahn, author of You’d Be Mine
Read More

Genre: Children's, Teenage & Educational / Children's / Teenage Fiction & True Stories

On Sale: 4th August 2020

Price: £12.99

ISBN-13: 9781529311334

Reviews

A deliciously entertaining rom-com that delivers genuine cultural insight while questioning societal norms. Danyal is hilarious, authentic, and disarmingly humble, though I thoroughly enjoyed spending time with all the vivid and multifaceted characters in the book.
Nandini Bajpai, author of A Match Made in Mehendi
A laugh-out-loud yet heartwarming story about familial obligations, friendship, and love. Syed M. Masood has created an unforgettable cast of characters with the utterly charming, hilarious, and most endearing Danyal Jilani at the center of it. A thoroughly enjoyable read and a great addition to any bookshelf.
Sabina Khan, author of The Love and Lies of Rukhsana Ali
Funny, open-hearted, and utterly charming, More Than Just a Pretty Face perfectly captures the joys of friendship and first love, as well as all the complexities of identity, faith, and family. This is a spectacular debut.
Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous
Hilarious and teeming with heart, More Than Just a Pretty Face challenged me, wounded me, made me laugh, and made me love. Danyal has secured his place as a heroic protagonist for the ages who only wants the very best for those he loves. His friends and family are so lucky to have him, and readers will be lucky to have Syed M. Masood's debut. I am a forever fan.
Erin Hahn, author of You’d Be Mine and More Than Maybe
Masood deftly explores religion, culture, class, and awkward teenage love in this refreshingly candid 'tell it like it is' desi romantic comedy. You'll root hard for Danyal and will be two-fists-high-in-the-air overjoyed when you get to the end.
Suzanne Park, author of The Perfect Escape and Loathe at First Sight
I couldn't have been more charmed by Danyal, the hapless pretty-boy and aspiring chef. One of the most unique and likable characters I've come across. This book has such a kind, expansive heart, and I'm immensely thankful that it exists.
Rahul Kanakia, author of We Are Totally Normal
Fresh, funny, and timely, More Than Just a Pretty Face is a wildly entertaining, stereotype-shattering rom-com debut. Total Netflix movie material.
Sarah Henning, author of Throw Like a Girl and the Sea Witch dulology
More Than Just A Pretty Face is the kind of book I've been searching for my entire life! Not only is it hilarious and heartwarming, with characters you can't help but be charmed by, but it honestly portrays the pressures of living up to family expectations and how history shapes our present and future. This is a must-read for everyone.
Adiba Jaigirdar, author of The Henna Wars
This book is exactly what we need more of on our shelves right now and always: fresh, funny, and reflective of the complicated, beautiful, diverse world we live in. With More Than Just a Pretty Face, Syed M. Masood has crafted a story that is just as deeply hilarious as it is unendingly tender. Danyal Jilani is an absolute delight of a character and the kind of boy that you not only can't help but root for but ultimately, fall completely in love with. More Than Just a Pretty Face is a delectable novel about family, faith, and finding your way to the person you want to be. I fell head-over-heels for Danyal's story, and readers will too.
Leah Johnson, author of You Should See Me in a Crown