We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781398705647

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 19th April 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

She’s accused of four murders. She’s only guilty of three…

When Ruby was a child growing up in Miami, she saw a boy from her school struggling against the ocean waves while his parents were preoccupied. Instead of helping him, Ruby dove under the water and held his ankle down until he drowned. She waited to feel guilty for it, but she never did.

And, as Ruby will argue in her senior thesis while studying psychology at Yale, guilt is sort of like eating ice cream while on a diet – if you’re already feeling bad, why not eat the whole carton? And so, the bodies start to stack up.

Twenty-five years later, Ruby’s in an interrogation room under suspicion of murder, being shown four photographs. Each is a person she once knew, now deceased. The line-up includes her husband Jason. She is responsible for three of the four deaths… but it might be the crime that she didn’t commit that will finally ensnare her.

From the Emmy Award-nominated producer of The Bold Type, and screenwriter of Glow, this darkly funny and compulsively page-turning novel is perfect for fans of Caroline Kepnes’ You and Oyinkan Braithwaite’s My Sister the Serial Killer.

The story of Ruby – a Dexter-like figure who commits her first murder aged five. I totally loved this book which had some incredibly inventive methods of death! Entirely original and utterly brilliant – a must-read. – Catherine Cooper, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Chalet

One of the best debuts I’ve read in a while, with a fascinating story, wicked sharp writing, and an unforgettable narrator. Blood Sugar needs to be on your 2022 reading list. – Samantha Downing, bestselling author of For Your Own Good

Reviews

One of the best debuts I've read in a while, with a fascinating story, wicked sharp writing, and an unforgettable narrator. Blood Sugar needs to be on your 2022 reading list.
Samantha Downing, bestselling author of For Your Own Good
Unsettling from its outset and engrossing to its very end, Blood Sugar pulls the reader deep into the mind of its highly intelligent, obsessively organized protagonist - an accomplished woman who just so happens to leave a trail of dead bodies in her wake. Never before have I cared so much for such an untrustworthy character.
Kathleen Barber, author of Truth Be Told
Inventive, engrossing, and wicked, BLOOD SUGAR is the tale of a woman who just can't seem to stop killing people. But she would never hurt her own husband-right? Ruby Simon is perhaps the most relatable murderer since Dexter. I found her story disturbingly fun.
Stephanie Wrobel, author of Darling Rose Gold
The story of Ruby - a Dexter-like figure who commits her first murder aged five. I totally loved this book which had some incredibly inventive methods of death! Entirely original and utterly brilliant - a must-read.
Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet
A chilling, twisty and exceptionally smart thriller that will convince you that not every cold-blooded killer is a villain. I adored this book from page one and didn't want it to end.
Michele Campbell, bestselling author of It’s Always the Husband
When a multiple murderer is your new fantasy best friend, you know you've just read something very special indeed. BLOOD SUGAR had me glued from the very first page with its masterful storytelling and whip-smart characterisation. Darkly comic, surprisingly tender, and most of all, hugely entertaining. A 2022 must-read!
Caz Frear