We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

One eventful night will change the lives of three friends forever…

The Travelling Vampire Show is one of Richard Laymon’s best-loved masterpieces – an evocative, nostalgic trip back to a time when innocence comes face to face with life’s darker forces. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.


‘This gloriously inventive piece is probably Laymon’s best book yet… The prose here is rich and inventive, the atmosphere and scene-setting handled with real aplomb’ – News International

It’s a hot August morning in 1963. All over the rural town of Grandville, tacked to power poles and trees, taped to store windows, flyers have appeared announcing the one-night-only performance of The Travelling Vampire Show. The promised highlight of the show is the gorgeous Valeria, the only living vampire in captivity.

For three local teenagers, two boys and a girl, this is a show they can’t miss. Even though the flyers say no one under eighteen will be admitted, they’re determined to find a way. What follows is a story of friendship and courage, temptation and terror, when three friends go where they shouldn’t go, and find much more than they ever expected.

What readers are saying about The Travelling Vampire Show:

‘The final scenes are filled with excitement and were enough to keep me awake until I’d finished the story – I don’t think I could have put it down until I’d found out what happened and what was going on!’

‘Just when you think that you have the storyline figured out, it twists and hurtles into a surprise ending

Expertly written, great dialogue, keeps you engrossed to the end

Reviews

Praise for Richard Laymon: If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat
Stephen King
In Laymon's books, blood doesn't so much as drip as explode, splatter and coagulate
<i>Independent</i>
No one writes like Laymon and you're going to have a good time with anything he writes
Dean Koontz
A gut-crunching writer
<i>Time Out</i>
Set in a sleepy American town in the summer of 1963, this rites of passage novel recreates the long, stifling days - and nights filled with possibilities - that distinguish the teenage years
Belfast Telegraph
The author knows how to sock it to the reader
The Times
This gloriously inventive piece is probably Laymon's best book yet... The prose here is rich and inventive, the atmosphere and scene-setting handled with real aplomb
News International
If you are not already well acquainted with Richard Laymon, get to know him now. This is an enticing tale of three youngsters in a small American town
Manchester Evening News
A wickedly involving story... a horror tale that's not only emotionally true but also scary and, above all, fun
Publishers Weekly
This gloriously inventive piece is probably Laymon's best book yet: dipping into the poetic vein of Ray Bradbury was clearly a vitalising exercise for him, and this is sheerly enjoyable... The prose here is rich and inventive, the atmosphere and scene-setting handled with real aplomb. Whatever you make of Laymon's earlier books, this is one you should try
News International Lineone