We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Don’t go down to the lake, where the past and the present threaten to collide…

In Richard Laymon’s riveting horror The Lake, a mother and daughter are united in a nightmare of danger and terror. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz.


‘White-hot pacing (with) rivers of blood… memorable evocation of the fathomless mystery of the moonlit hours’ – Publishers Weekly

Leigh is young, rebellious and beautiful – and she yearns for a summer of excitement by the lake. Maybe she’ll find it in the arms of the handsome boy who rows her out to the abandoned beach house. Or maybe she’ll stumble into a legacy of terror which will shatter her life…

Eighteen years on, Deana has no knowledge of her mother’s troubled past and not that much interest. She just wants to make out somewhere cool with her boyfriend – to let her hair down and live a little. If only living were that simple. But that summer at the lake casts a long shadow. And when the horrors of the past meet the perils of the present, both mother and daughter are plunged into a nightmare of blood and terror from which there is no escape.

What readers are saying about The Lake:

‘This is a great book… [Laymon] is an excellent writer, and knows just how to keep you on tenterhooks

Engrossing from start to finish –I couldn’t wait to see what was coming next…

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Richard Laymon: In Laymon's books, blood doesn't so much as drip as explode, splatter and coagulate
<i>Independent</i>
No one writes like Laymon and you're going to have a good time with anything he writes
Dean Koontz
A gut-crunching writer
<i>Time Out</i>
A brilliant writer
Sunday Express
The author knows how to sock it to the reader
The Times
White-hot pacing (with) rivers of blood... memorable evocation of the fathomless mystery of the moonlit hours
Publishers Weekly
If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat
Stephen King