We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A freak rainstorm results in carnage…

One Rainy Night is a spine-chilling horror novel from the highly acclaimed Richard Laymon, perfect for fans of Dean Koontz and Clive Barker.


‘Laymon is unique. A phenomenon. A genius of the grisly and the grotesque’ – Joe Citro, The Blood Review

The strange black rain falls like a shroud on the small town of Bixby. It comes down in torrents, warm and unnatural. And as it falls, the town changes. One by one, the inhabitants fall prey to its horrifying effect. One by one, they become filled with hate and rage… and the need to kill.

Formerly friendly neighbours turn to crazed maniacs. A stranger at a gas station shoves a nozzle down a customer’s throat and pulls the trigger. A soaking-wet line of movie-goers smashes its way into the theatre to slaughter the people inside. A loving wife attacks her husband, still beating his head against the floor long after he’s dead. As the rain falls, blood flows in the gutters – and terror runs through the streets.

What readers are saying about One Rainy Night:

The action does not stop for a second, dragging you brutally along at a breakneck pace. Do not start this book unless you have time to finish it NOW, you will not want to put it down!

‘Laymon throws in a collection of colourful characters that are brought to vivid life with their individual, loveable and instantly identifiable traits’

‘The novel lasts for a total of 410 blood soaked pages, of which all 410 of these will keep your heart racing, as you sit there perched on the edge of your seat

Reviews

Praise for Richard Laymon: In Laymon's books, blood doesn't so much as drip as explode, splatter and coagulate
<i>Independent</i>
No one writes like Laymon and you're going to have a good time with anything he writes
Dean Koontz
A gut-crunching writer
<i>Time Out</i>
A brilliant writer
Sunday Express
If you've missed Laymon you've missed a treat
Stephen King
The author knows how to sock it to the reader
The Times
Laymon is unique. A phenomenon. A genius of the grisly and the grotesque
Joe Citro, <i> The Blood Review </i>