We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Everyone has a price…

In the Dark is an unforgettably gruesome horror novel by Richard Laymon, perfect for fans of Stephen King and Joe Hill.


‘Laymon is one of those rare plotting geniuses who can out-think and out-thrill anybody on the block’ – Hellnotes

Nothing much happens in Donnerville. At least not to the young librarian, Jane Kerry. Then one day Jane finds an envelope containing a fifty-dollar bill and a note instructing her to ‘Look homeward, angel.’ Jane pulls a copy of the Thomas Wolfe novel of that title off the shelf and finds a second envelope. This one contains a hundred-dollar bill and another clue. Like the first, it’s signed ‘MOG (Master of Games).’ The game has begun…

But this is no ordinary game. As it goes on, it requires more and more of Jane’s strength and ingenuity. It pushes her into actions that she knows are crazy, immoral or criminal – and it becomes continually more dangerous. More than once, Jane has to fight for her life. But she soon learns she can’t quit this game. MOG won’t let her. She’ll have to play to the bitter end.

What readers are saying about In the Dark:

‘I couldn’t stop reading… I turned the pages so fast I thought the book would catch fire

‘This is one of my favourite Laymon novels, it is quirky and irreverent

Outstanding, edge of your seat horror novel, from start to finish. Loved it!

Reviews

Praise for Richard Laymon: In Laymon's books, blood doesn't so much as drip as explode, splatter and coagulate
<i>Independent</i>
No one writes like Laymon and you're going to have a good time with anything he writes
Dean Koontz
A gut-crunching writer
<i>Time Out</i>
A brilliant writer
Sunday Express
The author knows how to sock it to the reader
The Times
Laymon is one of those rare plotting geniuses who can out-think and out-thrill anybody on the block
Hellnotes
If you've missed Laymon, you've missed a treat
Stephen King