We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Ghosts of Athens (Death of Rome Saga Book Five)

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781848947047

Price: £5.99

ON SALE: 7th June 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback
The fifth book in the DEATH OF ROME SAGA is an exhilarating thriller and perfect for readers of Ben Kane and Simon Scarrow.

612 AD.
No longer the glorious cradle of all art and science, Athens is a ruined provincial city in one of the Byzantine Empire’s less vital provinces. The Emperor has diverted Aelric’s ship home from Egypt to send him there, but surely there is more important business in Constantinople. Isn’t Aelric needed to save the Empire’s finances?

Is Aelric on a high level mission to save the Empire or has he been set up to fail? The only certainty is that Aelric finds himself in a derelict palace of dark and endless corridors that Martin, his cowardly secretary, assures him pulse will an ancient evil.

Reviews

Vivid characters, devious plotting and buckets of gore are enhanced by his unfamiliar choice of period. Nasty, fun and educational.
<i>Daily Telegraph</i> on THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE
He knows how to deliver a fast-paced story and his grasp of the period is impressively detailed
<i>Mail on Sunday</i> on THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE
A rollicking and raunchy read . . . Anyone who enjoys their history with large dollops of action, sex, intrigue and, above all, fun will absolutely love this novel.
<i>Historical Novels Review</i> on THE TERROR OF CONSTANTINOPLE
'Fascinating to read, very well written, an intriguing plot and I enjoyed it very much.'
Derek Jacobi on CONSPIRACIES OF ROME
'Blake's plotting is as brilliantly devious as the mind of his sardonic and very earthy hero. This is a story of villainy that reels you in from its prosaic opening through a series of death-defying thrills and spills.'
Lancashire Evening Post on THE GHOSTS OF ATHENS
'It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy.'
Matt Coward, Morning Star on The Sword of Damascus
This is a story of villainy that reels you in from its prosaic opening through a series of death-defying thrills and spills.
Lancashire Evening Post
Devious plotting, superb period detail and the joy of being transported back in time by a born storyteller ... Blake's perfect recipe for a sumptuous Roman Feast.
Fleetwood Today
It would be hard to over-praise this extraordinary series, a near-perfect blend of historical detail and atmosphere with the plot of a conspiracy thriller, vivid characters, high philosophy and vulgar comedy.
The Morning Star
The best historical novel I've ever read.
L. Neil Smith on, Conspiracies of Rome: Death of Rome Saga Book One