We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

No better friend, no deadlier enemy…

In Mathew’s Tale, his landmark fortieth novel, Quintin Jardine tells the rem
arkable story of a man’s quest for justice – at any cost. Perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Paul Doherty.

‘Once I picked it up, I couldn’t let it go’ – Michael Jecks

1818, Carluke, Lanarkshire. Mathew Fleming returns home to Scotland following heroic service at the Battle of Waterloo. After seven years away, he is a ghostly presence to those he left behind.

But Mathew is ambitious and soon becomes a man of influence in his county and beyond. Yet through all his success, he still hides the loss of his one true love.

When a terrible act of murder occurs, Mathew must choose between the rule of blood and the rule of law. And as a man of honour with a warrior’s instincts, he embarks on a journey of vengeance that will test every sinew of his faith in mankind…

What readers are saying about Mathew’s Tale:

‘The quality of the prose, which feels authentically early 19th-century and has such a skilled lightness about it, sucks the reader in and [this book] becomes an addictive read

Mathew’s Tale is full of colour, immersing the reader in a bygone age with deceptive ease. It is such a pleasure to read

‘This is a highly accomplished, sensitive novel, enriched by great storytelling, characterisation and historical setting and mood’

Reviews

Praise for Quintin Jardine: Once I picked it up, I couldn't let it go
Michael Jecks
The perfect mix for a highly charged, fast moving crime thriller
Glasgow Herald
Deplorably readable
Guardian