We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Missing You Already is an utterly enchanting novel about the importance of the little things in life – little things that we so often take for granted but would be lost without. The perfect read for fans of Ruth Hogan’s The Keeper of Lost Things and Joanna Cannon’s The Trouble with Goats and Sheep.

‘Mclynn bravely tackles some serious subjects with sensitivity, honesty and intelligence. It is an insightful and ultimately uplifting novel from a talented writer’ – Irish Times

At a remote railway station in Norfolk, Kitty Fulton runs the ticket office and her pet project is the lost and found. Nothing gives her more pleasure than to reunite possessions with their rightful owners. It is an experience that remains elusive in her own world as her mother’s Alzheimer’s pulls them further and further apart and, on top of this, she must endure the disintegration of a close relationship with a childhood friend. Just when Kitty feels her life can’t get more complicated a series of extraordinary events challenges her notions of duty and fidelity. And in struggling to find the answers Kitty embarks on a journey that questions the importance of life and the way we must all live…

What readers are saying about Missing You Already:

‘A wonderful story of despair, heartache, new beginnings and hope

Beautifully written

‘A warm read, which will make you laugh, cry and question what you would do in these situations

Reviews

Praise for Pauline McLynn: 'Scandal, infidelity, secrets and soufflé are all explored with a healthy dollop of humour
Express
Hilariously funny follow-up to Something for the Weekend. With the perfect balance of humour, adventure and romance, Pauline McLynn makes crafting witty, fast-paced fiction look like a doddle
OK!
A surprisingly gentle, relaxed story... confident, assured
The Times
Packed with cheeky sarcasm and wit
Company
An upbeat, chatty novel
Daily Mail
If this book receives the critical judgement it deserves, it will forever bury the ghost of a demented housekeeper and proclaim the emergence of one of the most interesting Irish writers in years
Sunday Business Post
Funny and snappy...will sit well on a shelf next to such writers as Cathy Kelly, Morag Prunty and Marian Keyes
Sunday Tribune