We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Pauline McLynn’s intrepid private investigator, Leo Street, returns in this sparkling comic crime caper. The charming Leo Street series is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Lauren Henderson.

‘Hilariously funny follow-up to Something for the Weekend. With the perfect balance of humour, adventure and romance, Pauline McLynn makes crafting witty, fast-paced fiction look like a doddle’ – OK!

Private eye Leo Street is on the trail of an adulterous husband when her clapped-out car causes her cover to be blown. It’s time to draft in Ciara Gillespie, the teenage tearaway whom she befriended on her last case. At first, Ciara’s methods of surveillance leave a lot to be desired, but soon she’s unearthing the secret life of an obstetrician who likes to dabble in genetic engineering… With Ciara in control, Leo’s free to pursue other matters, such as who’s making anonymous phone calls to her friend Maeve, and why there’s pandemonium at the local crèche. Then she accepts an invitation from Andy Raynor – an old flame who she’s never fully extinguished – and sparks begin to fly.

What readers are saying about Better than a Rest:

‘The characters are drawn with exquisite first-hand knowledge of real people, and the situations in which Leo finds herself, whether bland or extraordinary, are described with pinpoint accuracy and a certain amount of delicious agony

‘She [Pauline McLynn] truly understands the eccentricities of Dublin life and reflects them perfectly’

‘Excellent mix of humour and drama’

Reviews

Praise for Pauline McLynn: 'Scandal, infidelity, secrets and soufflé are all explored with a healthy dollop of humour
Express
Hilariously funny follow-up to Something for the Weekend. With the perfect balance of humour, adventure and romance, Pauline McLynn makes crafting witty, fast-paced fiction look like a doddle
OK!
A surprisingly gentle, relaxed story... confident, assured
The Times
Packed with cheeky sarcasm and wit
Company
An upbeat, chatty novel
Daily Mail
If this book receives the critical judgement it deserves, it will forever bury the ghost of a demented housekeeper and proclaim the emergence of one of the most interesting Irish writers in years
Sunday Business Post
Funny and snappy...will sit well on a shelf next to such writers as Cathy Kelly, Morag Prunty and Marian Keyes
Sunday Tribune