Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella)

The Peacock's Cry (Hugh Corbett Novella)

With Ranulf’s life at stake, can Sir Hugh hope to save him?

An exclusive digital novella featuring Sir Hugh Corbett, the medieval sleuth of acclaimed historian Paul Doherty’s most popular series. Includes an exclusive extract from the eighteenth Corbett novel Dark Serpent
. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Ellis Peters

It is 1311 and England seethes with unrest. Sir Hugh Corbett, former keeper of the Secret Seal, has been absent from royal service for over six years. Content to live a life more relaxed with his wife and children in the country Corbett has enjoyed his time away from the machinations of court and the secrets men will kill to keep.
But a visit from his new King, Edward II, brings about change. His former protégé, Ranulf Atte-Newgate, now Senior Clerk in the Chancery, has been implicated in the death of a young novice, and Edward has made it clear that Corbett must resume his post and solve the case if Ranulf is not to hang for the murder…
Corbett knows that resuming his post will bring him to the fore of Edward’s political machinations but with Ranulf’s life at stake, does Corbett have any choice but to accept the Seal once more?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘Doherty manages to build in plot twists and misdirection and the whole thing moves at a tremendous pace to the final conclusion’
A magical author
Master storytelling from one of the best authors
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 14th July 2016

Price: £0.99

ISBN-13: 9781472233653

Reviews

Vitality in the cityscape... angst in the mystery; it's Peters minus the herbs but plus a few crates of sack
Oxford Times
A masterpiece of murder and mystery
Northern Echo
Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history... evocative and lyrical descriptions
New Statesman
For those who are keen enthusiasts of medieval murder stories the name Paul Doherty will need no introduction... He writes with enthusiasm about an era he knows well
SHOTS Magazine
Praise for Paul Doherty: The maestro of medieval mystery... As with all Doherty's historical whodunnits, it is packed with salty dialogue, the smells and superstitions of the 14th century, not to mention the political intrigues
Books Magazine
As always the author invokes the medieval period in all its muck as well as glory, filling the pages with pungent smells and description. The author brings years of research to his writing; his mastery of the period as well as a disciplined writing schedule have led to a rapidly increasing body of work and a growing reputation
Mystery News
Paul Doherty has come up trumps again with this medieval mystery
Newcastle Evening Chronicle
Medieval London comes vividly to life
Publishers Weekly
The best of its kind since the death of Ellis Peters
Time Out
Doherty's deep understanding of the period and the nitty-gritty of historical detail are to the fore without intruding on the rhythm of the plot. Superb entertainment
Historical Novels Review