We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350346

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 30th October 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Hugh Corbett is on the trail of a deadly killer in the fetid streets of medieval London…

Paul Doherty writes an unputdownable mystery in Murder Wears a Cowl, the sixth novel to feature medieval sleuth Hugh Corbett. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Michael Jecks.


In early 1302 a violent serial killer lurks in the city of London, slitting the throats of prostitutes. And when Lady Somerville, one of the Sisters of St Martha, is murdered in the same barbaric fashion, her death is closely followed by that of Father Benedict in suspicious circumstances. Edward of England turns to his trusted master clerk, Hugh Corbett, to reveal the identity of the bloodthirsty assassin. Joining Corbett on his mission are his devious manservant Ranulf and his faithful horseman Maltote.
In the dark, fetid streets of the city and in the desolate abbey grounds, they encounter danger and deceit at every turn. Only Ragwort, the mad beggar, has seen the killer strike, and the one clue that Corbett has to help him is Lady Somerville’s cryptic message: ‘Calcullus non facit monachum ‘ – the cowl does not make the monk.

What readers are saying about Murder Wears a Cowl:
‘Doherty’s books are an absolute delight. The pages just seem to race by and the sights and sounds of medieval England leap out of the pages
Murder Wears a Cowl makes medieval London appear vivid and alive… while meanwhile enthralling you with a gripping mystery’
‘The twists and turns of the plot are well-thought out and the identity of the killer comes as a complete surprise

What's Inside

Read More Read Less