Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Rose by Any Other Name

On sale

18th July 2024

Price: £9.99

Select a format

Selected: Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780356517728

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘A delightfully impish heroine . . . a tempestuous erotic connection . . . a captivating imagining of the life of the Dark Lady, the illusive inspiration for Shakespeare’s later sonnets’ Publishers Weekly (starred review)

My name has only been whispered, heretofore…

England, 1591. Rose Rushe’s passion for life runs deep-she loves mead and music, meddles with astrology, and laughs at her mother’s warnings to guard her reputation. When Rose’s father dies and a noble accuses her and her dear friend Cecely of witchcraft, they flee to the household of respected alchemists in London.

But as their bond deepens, their sanctuary begins to feel more like a cage. To escape, they turn to the occult, secretly casting charms and selling astrological advice in the hopes of building a life together. This thriving underground business leads Rose to fair young noble Henry and playwright Will Shakespeare, and so begins a brief, tempestuous, and powerful romance-one filled with secret longings and deep betrayals.

In this world of dazzling masques and decadent feasts, where the stars decide futures, Rose will write her own fate instead.


‘Mary McMyne is a magician’ Gregory Maguire, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked


Reviews

BOOKLIST on THE BOOK OF GOTHEL
McMyne's debut is a reinvention of the Rapunzel fairy tale, a luscious origin story from the witch's point of view . . . McMyne melds folklore with actual historical figures and cleverly bookends the narrative with opening and closing chapters set in the twenty-first century
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
McMyne brings rich creativity, feminist sensibility, and a meticulous grounding in history to her captivating imagining of the life of the Dark Lady, the illusive inspiration for Shakespeare's later sonnets. . . . A satisfying alternate history that fits the facts without being limited by them. This is an impressive feat
Gregory Maguire, bestselling author of WICKED, on THE BOOK OF GOTHEL
Smart, swift, sure-footed and fleet-winged, The Book of Gothel launches its magic from a most reliable source: the troubled heart. Mary McMyne is a magician. Her take on the Rapunzel tale glows like a cloisonné gem set against a fist of dark soapstone
Louisa Morgan, author of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES
The Book of Gothel is wonderfully rich with historical detail, and sparkles with the intermingled magic of gods and goddesses, seers and wisewomen. Haelewise is a memorable heroine, worthy of legend. Readers will see the story of Rapunzel in a new and refreshing light
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY on THE BOOK OF GOTHEL
McMyne's shimmering debut gives a fresh, exciting backstory to one of the most famous villains in fairy tale lore: the witch who put Rapunzel in her tower . . . the result is a sprawling epic, full of magic, love, and heartbreak. Fans of Circe and The Wolf and the Woodsman will devour this taut, empowering fairy tale