We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A gripping mystery about a woman trying to find out the truth behind the death of her best friend and introducing a brilliant detective duo – perfect for fans of Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald.

A DEAD GIRL
A vulnerable young woman, fresh out of the care system, is trying to discover the truth behind the sudden death of her best friend.

A MURDERED POLICE OFFICER
The charred body of a policeman – currently the subject of an internal investigation – is found in the burnt-out-shell of his car on the Southend seafront.

A CRIME WORTH KILLING FOR?
To DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell of the Essex Police Major Investigation Team, the two events seem unconnected. But as they dig deeper into their colleague’s murder, dark secrets begin to emerge.

Can Pearson and Russell solve both cases, before more lives are destroyed?

A twisty, gripping novel that introduces a brilliant new detective duo. If you like Peter James, Angela Marsons and James Oswald, then you’ll love this crime debut.

TRULY EVIL, the gripping second book in the series is out now.

****

Praise for Burned and Broken:

Immensely impressiveThe Times

‘The investigation into a copper’s dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debutSunday Times

Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success’ Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books)

I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can’t wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell’ Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek)

‘The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn’t find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed’ Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)

Reviews

Immensely impressive.
The Times
A cracker of a crime debut: Hardie's crime debut is a cracker with a cunningly twisted plot.
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut.
Sunday Times
A very strong debut by someone whom I believe is going to become a household name. You heard it here first! A great story-line, with very real characters . . . Mark has created a new police partnership, with his main characters DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell: one from the dark ages of the Met, the other from the wrong side of the tracks. The partnership works really well, as you begin to empathise with the other main characters, plus Donna and Malc, a couple that you aren't likely to forget in a hurry! Read it for yourself, and then tell me that I'm wrong!
Sainsburys Entertainment, 5 stars
A feast of intrigue.
CHOICE Magazine
Auspicious debut . . . finely drawn, overlapping story.
Daily Mail
Introduces a new detective duo to crime fiction and guarantees some open mouth reading. I look forward to see what he has in store for Pearson and Russell.
Woman's Way
Emotional, intelligent, sensual & with such a strong voice, Burned & Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success.
Harry Illingworth (@Harryillers), Goldsboro Books