Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Friends Forever

Friends Forever

Two young women find the bond of lifelong friendship gives them the strength to hold on to their dreams, in the hardship of 1920s Liverpool.

In Friends Forever, Lyn Andrews weaves an unforgettable saga of friendship overcoming life’s hardships. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Nadine Dorries and Joan Jonker.


In 1928 Bernie O’Sullivan and Molly Keegan catch their first glimpse of the bustling city they’re about to call home. Both seventeen, and best friends since childhood, the girls have left Ireland behind for an exciting new life in Liverpool.

They are dismayed to discover that the relatives they are to stay with have barely two pennies to rub together; the promised grand house is a run-down building in one of Liverpool’s worst slum areas. Desperate to escape, Bernie secures a position as a domestic servant, while Molly is taken on as a shop assistant.
Soon they have settled and find themselves in love with local men. For both, though, love holds surprises and the danger of ruin in an unforgiving world…

What readers are saying about Friends Forever:

‘The story and characters are riveting

‘Lyn Andrews is an excellent writer. Good story line, interesting characters… Kept me up late but it was worth it’

Five stars

Don’t miss the equally moving wartime sequel, Every Mother’s Son.
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Sagas

On Sale: 27th May 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755379255

Reviews

Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo
Praise for Lyn Andrews: 'An outstanding storyteller'
Woman's Weekly
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
Gutsy...a vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Daily Express