Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Ellan Vannin

Ellan Vannin

An orphaned child faces hardship, but won’t give up until happiness is in her grasp…

Ellan Vannin is an unforgettable saga by bestselling author Lyn Andrews that tells the story of a young woman who falls in love, despite having already loved and lost. Perfect for fans of Anne Baker, Rosie Goodwin and Maureen Lee.


Life isn’t easy for widowed George Vannin and his young daughter, but somehow George has raised the child alone and Ellan adores her father.

Ellan is ten years old when the shaft at Foxdale Mine collapses, and her father never comes up. From then on she lives with Aunt Maud, a dour woman with a quick temper. Her husband had died in a mining accident too, and she never forgave the family at the Big House for their part in the tragedy.

When Ellan is offered a chance to better herself at the Big House, Aunt Maud savagely forbids it. Ellan’s chance is yet to come, but she has a long way to go before she finds the happiness she deserves…

What readers are saying about Ellan Vannin:

What a lovely story! You share Ellan’s ups and downs through her life feeling like you were right there with her. Totally kept my attention although the story was light. Couldn’t put it down until I had read the last page’

A very moving story typical of Lyn Andrews’ style. The characters seem so real, hard to believe its fiction. Full of history, poverty, lost love, kindness, and true love

This book is a must
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 4th March 2010

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755376322

Reviews

Her mix of Irish and Liverpool backdrops have won this strong saga writer an assured place in the Sunday Times top 10...she's great!
Bookseller
A compelling read
Woman's Own
The Catherine Cookson of Liverpool
Northern Echo
An outstanding storyteller
Woman's Weekly
Gutsy... A vivid picture of a hard-up, hard-working community...will keep the pages turning
Express
Lyn Andrews tackles her subject with the panache of an indisputably gifted storyteller
Historical Novels Review
A vivid portrayal of life
Best
She has a realism that is almost palpable
Liverpool Echo