We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Two cunning cats are on the case…

The Cat Who Played Brahms is a terrific adventure for the most unlikely, most unusual, most delightful team in detective fiction from acclaimed author Lilian Jackson Braun. Perfect for fans of Simon Brett and Sofie Kelly.


‘Mrs Braun has a breezy style; the cats are really smart’ – New York Times Book Review

Is it just a case of summertime blues or a full-blown career crisis? Newspaper reporter Jim Qwilleran isn’t sure, but he’s hoping a few days in the country will help him sort out his life. With cats Koko and Yum Yum for company, Qwill heads for a cabin owned by a family friend. But from the moment he arrives, things turn strange. Eerie footsteps cross the roof at midnight. Local townsfolk become oddly secretive. And then, while fishing, Qwill hooks on to a murder mystery while Koko develops a sudden and uncanny fondness for classical music…

What readers are saying about The Cat Who Played Brahms:

‘A highly enjoyable read, the perfect book to curl up with on a sunny or rainy afternoon’

Suspenseful, thrilling and guaranteed to put a smile on your face

Five stars

Reviews

Praise for Lilian Jackson Braun: Mrs Braun has a breezy style; the cats are really smart
New York Times Book Review
The fastidious plotting is designed to appeal to more than just the cat-lover
The Times
The tale is as cosy as an hour spent with your favourite cat
Publishers Weekly
Can best be compared to that cosiest of feelings - having a purring cat on your lap
Booklist
Lilian Jackson Braun keeps both paws planted on the side of charming
Los Angeles Times
Most detectives do their legwork on two legs. A few, however, do it on four...
Associated Press
An offbeat series with a good deal of charm
The Baltimore Sun
Braun writes with charm and sureness
Cleveland Plain Dealer
The entanglement is better than a Christie and the cat descriptions are terrific
Liverpool Daily Post
Entertaining and absorbing mysteries which, in the tradition of all good whodunnits, keep you guessing right to the end
Dumfries and Galloway Standard