We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

‘Assured, witty and inventive. This debut has “future classic” written all over it.’ – The Guardian

Pack your suitcase for a magical adventure! Perfect for fans of The Train to Impossible Places and Pages & Co.

At the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, each suitcase transports you to a different world. All you have to do is step inside . . .


When 12-year-old Flick Hudson accidentally ends up in the Strangeworlds Travel Agency, she uncovers a fantastic secret: there are hundreds of other worlds just steps away from ours. All you have to do to visit them is jump into the right suitcase. Then Flick gets the invitation of a lifetime: join Strangeworlds’ magical travel society and explore other worlds.

But, unknown to Flick, the world at the very centre of it all, a city called Five Lights, is in danger. Buildings and even streets are mysteriously disappearing. Once Flick realizes what’s happening she must race against time, travelling through unchartered worlds, seeking a way to fix Five Lights before it collapses into nothingness – and takes our world with it.

A magical adventure for 9+ readers that will take you to whole new worlds.

Reviews

Assured, witty and inventive, this debut has '"future classic" written all over it.
Imogen Russell Williams, The Guardian
You'll love this entertaining, magical adventure
The Week Junior
This thrilling debut by LD Lapinski is the perfect story to disappear into for a few days.
Sarah Mallon, The Scotsman
A fabulous fantastical adventure.
Sarah Kingsford, The Sunday Express
Young readers who love fast-paced stories with lots of adventure, imagination and magic will love this.
Sarah Webb, Irish Independent
This is an ideal escape for fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. Lapinski's feats of world building will transport even the most stuck-at-home reader beyond their wildest dreams.
Piers Torday, The Guardian
Lapinski has not only created endless worlds made up of magic and colour, but characters made up of the same charm to fill them.
Benjamin Dean, goodhousekeeping.com