We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Can she ignore her feelings and escape danger?

When Somebody Loves You is a moving saga of intrigue, danger and romance from much-loved author June Tate. Perfect for fans of Pam Evans and Dilly Court.


It’s 1936 and every morning Kingsland Market in Southampton is bustling with shoppers. Elsa Carter, a vivacious young woman, takes pride in her colourful fruit and veg stall and enjoys the friendly banter with the other traders – except for slippery Clive Forbes. Thank goodness she knows her fiancé Peter, a cub reporter on a local rag, is a man she can trust.

When Peter is sent away for work, Elsa meets Jean-Paul, a devastatingly handsome Frenchman who’s selling antiques through Clive’s stall. Elsa suspects Jean-Paul’s business with Clive may not be strictly above-board, but she finds herself drawn to him – and, to her horror, straight into the path of danger…

What readers are saying about When Somebody Loves You:

‘There is never a dull moment. Not only is this a love story, but with the added suspense of crime and drama, it really makes the story have added depth and you do get quite emotionally involved with the characters’

Could not put it down

‘Great read – five stars

Reviews

A page-turner for all saga lovers
Katie Fforde
Excellent and gripping... compelling. I am eagerly awaiting June Tate's next offering
Sussex Life
Her debut book caused a stir among Cookson and Cox devotees, and they'll love this
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Tate has a marvellous grasp of the subtleties and complexities of human relationships. Her books are always guaranteed to touch the hearts of her readers
Lancashire Evening Post
Compulsive reading
Woman’s Weekly