We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

All that glitters is not gold…

In To Be A Lady, June Tate writes an unforgettable saga of a young woman’s ambition, and her discovery that sometimes the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Lyn Andrews.


Southampton, 1954. Bryony Travis is the daughter of Dan Travis, a second-hand car dealer who also deals in stolen goods. An avid reader of Tatler magazine, Bryony longs to escape her father’s shady associates and meet sophisticated people with good manners.

When a wealthy barrister buys a car from her father, she is introduced to his handsome son, James Hargreaves. Through James, Bryony steps up into the high society circles which she has always yearned to be part of and has a fine time, going to Ascot, dining at the Savoy. However, she soon gets a shock when she discovers that the aristocracy and her father’s gangland friends aren’t as different as she’d imagined…

What readers are saying about To Be A Lady:

The story grips from the start. June Tate has conjured up a cast of interesting and empathetic characters, especially with her heroine, Bryony, wonderfully independent and able to cope in a man’s world – in this case a sometimes colourful, sometimes underground, but always fascinating world

‘This author is a born storyteller who simply goes from strength to strength. I enjoyed it immensely

Five stars

Reviews

A page-turner for all saga lovers
Katie Fforde
Excellent and gripping... compelling. I am eagerly awaiting June Tate's next offering
Sussex Life
Her debut book caused a stir among Cookson and Cox devotees, and they'll love this
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Tate has a marvellous grasp of the subtleties and complexities of human relationships. Her books are always guaranteed to touch the hearts of her readers
Lancashire Evening Post
Compulsive reading
Woman’s Weekly