We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Abandoned and alone, this is the unforgettable tale of one woman’s search for happiness.

Riches of the Heart
by June Tate is a moving saga of one woman’s encounters with poverty, tragedy and her chance for happiness. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Kitty Neale.

‘[Lily’s] struggle to find happiness again makes this gritty saga compulsive reading’ – Woman’s Weekly

Lily Pickford is just sixteen when her violent father throws her out of the house. Her first few nights are spent sleeping rough in Southampton’s sleazy docklands, but her luck turns when stallholder Rachel Cohen gives her work and a place to stay where she regularly encounters Vittorio Teglia, a local villain who desires her.
Her happiness is complete when she meets Tom McCann, a wild Irishman who only has eyes for Lily. When Lily is tragically forced to walk away from her new life, she is driven to the streets and prostitution, dreading the day that Tom discovers what she’s become. A day that dawns all too soon…

What readers are saying about Riches of the Heart:

‘I love this storyline, the details of the old days, and the interesting characters

One of the best books l have ever read’

Absolutely wonderfulfive stars

Don’t miss the heart-stopping sequel: No One Promised Me Tomorrow

Reviews

[Lily's] struggle to find happiness again makes this gritty saga compulsive reading
Woman's Weekly
A page-turner for all saga lovers
Katie Fforde
Excellent and gripping... compelling. I am eagerly awaiting June Tate's next offering
Sussex Life
Her debut book caused a stir among Cookson and Cox devotees, and they'll love this
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Tate has a marvellous grasp of the subtleties and complexities of human relationships. Her books are always guaranteed to touch the hearts of her readers
Lancashire Evening Post